Whirlwind

Do you ever feel like the world around you is spinning and each day is a struggle just to keep your head on straight?

So many wonderful things have happened since I returned from my latest visit to Congo, but most notably, I am engaged to be married to a wonderful man who loves me despite the ways I am often unlovely. I am eagerly planning a wedding and looking forward to being Mrs. Christopher Walker.

The other exciting news is that I’m traveling to Managua, Nicaragua today! It may seem last minute, but I’ve had it booked for over a month. I just haven’t had time to blog about it. I’m doing very similar work to what I was doing in East Africa, providing artistic training to women and children who have been rescued out of prostitution.

I am joined by a small team of teachers, artisans and medical professionals who will work with me to meet the practical and spiritual needs of the 40+ women and children currently living at House of Hope (Casa de Esperanza).

My focus is sewing instruction, fabric batiking, and jewelry making. One of the artisans joining me, a professional potter, will be building a kiln and teaching women to make beads out of local materials for their jewelry business.

Please PRAY

  • that God will shape my attitude toward the women and girls to see them as He does, precious and valued
  • that my time will be profitable to the women in both economic and spiritual growth so that they can provide for their families
  • that God will keep the team safe and healthy
  • that this whirlwind will slow down long enough for me to really enjoy the journey and be fully present in Nicaragua

More posts coming over the next few days…

Leave a comment