The People in Your Neighborhood

Milwaukee, meet your new neighbors…

In Milwaukee, there are an estimated 1500 faces like these. The faces of Burmese refugees who have fled to the United States seeing asylum. Their country, Myanmar (Burma) has been in conflict since 1988.

Twice per month, my church opens its doors to 50 Burmese refugees and I’ve had the privilege of ministering to these faces. We’re meeting practical needs such as teaching English and instructing about transportation, home safety, banking. We’re also providing homework help and tutoring for students, activities and songs for children.

Last week after our session, one woman embraced me and with tears in her eyes, thanked me for teaching her…

What a beautiful way God is using the skills He developed within me this past year in Africa to serve others in America.

 

5 responses to “The People in Your Neighborhood

  1. You go, Girl!
    Your journey is inspiring and real.
    I am very happy to have found you.
    Blessings.

  2. Right on Megan!
    I agree with commenter. God Speed!

  3. You are beautiful and I love how God is using you in Milwaukee. Thanks for our conversation last night. I pray that the Lord blesses these ‘strangers’ in your midst and gives them the comfort of ‘home’ in Him and your community.

  4. Hello, Megan!

    I’m following your blog since I was in US being prepared to work as a Volunteer in Mozambique Africa!

    Is great to receive news from you and your projects, me and my wife went together to Mozambique and now we are working in a poor vilage here in Bahia, Brazil.

    Let’s be in touch and continue like that! you are doing really great!

    Congrats!

    See ya!

  5. Megan that is awesome! I am so excited and encouraged by how you’re continuing to connect with people and teach them – as you said, using the skills you developed last year. And to remain involved with people in that personal way – what a blessing!!

Leave a Reply

