Open mouth, insert foot.

Extroverts get in trouble for talking without thinking.

Introverts get in trouble for thinking by way of writing and publishing without editing. The internet only encourages this habit for introverts.

After receiving a barrage of emails, it has come to my attention that I need to explain a few things.

Why am I still blogging? The journey is over. Mission accomplished, right?

Wrong. The journey has just begun. This blog will morph throughout the rhythms of my life and will look a bit different as I continue.

It will serve to document my days adjusting back in America.
It will be a place for me to sort out the thoughts clouding my mind.
It will be a place where I strive to keep a Vertical focus in this horizontal world.

So, what is the aim of my blog?

To reflect and react.
To notify and inform.
To engage and inspire.
To open eyes and touch hearts.

The underlying purpose of this blog is to share my story with you. At times, the storybook of my life reads more like a tragedy than a fairytale.

I pray that my story bears witness to the sighting of God.

I am not held back by shame or brokenness. I know others encounter similar struggles along the way. So I hope…

to bless

and encourage

and walk alongside

until we see His glory revealed.

Disclaimer: The purpose of my blog is not to evoke shame or pass judgement on America. Having been away from the States, I can look at things with a fresh pair of eyes. That doesn’t mean that my vision is 20/20, but that I tend to see things from a different perspective. If you disagree with a statement I’ve made please comment on that to generate a broader discussion among other readers.

Reverse culture shock is a sticky swamp of emotions. Wading through the swamp is messy. And if it’s too painful for you to read about the process, I understand. But if you’re willing to watch me embrace this season of re-entry, feel free to stick around.

8 responses to “Open mouth, insert foot.

  1. Yes, please continue to write on your reflections. Be encouraged that you are way ahead of the game by THINKING and MEDITATING. The majority are caught up in NOT doing this.

  2. Blessings to you as you wade through your reverse culture shock. I have not experienced it directly myself but know others who have, including my daughter who was in Central Asia for 2 years. I am not offended by your comments of American culture:)

    • Thanks for your encouragement Karyn. And I’d love to hear any words of wisdom you may have from observing your daughter through her transition back into American culture!

  3. Megan
    I love to read your blog! You write so beautifully. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us all.

  4. Write for your personal release not creating intentional joy to the masses… Not everyone will agree or feel moved but for those who do, your blog is a gift and I for one am inspired by your perspective and encouraged by your honesty.

  5. Megan:

    Writing for me has always been a form of therapy. It’s always been raw & uncut…so readers beware.

    I have been through the murky swamp you now see yourself having to wade across. You will get through it. I just hope your crossing is quick and leaves you wiser and not terribly sullied.

    big love,
    jill

  6. Please don’t put a foot in your mouth, it’d be so much harder to understand what you are saying!
    I love that you are blogging beyond your physical time in Central and Eastern Africa. This season of reflection and sharing is essential to processing the experience and future impact on one’s life. Your honesty is beautiful. Your creativity is enchanting. And your faith is inspiring. Meredith and I were just talking about the ‘New Year’ post you did and saying that we want to do the reflection together. Thank you for your blog.

  7. I’m stickin’ around girl!!

Leave a Reply

