Goat’s Meat and Beatitudes

With a new blessed mindset, I’ve been studying the beatitudes that I might truly take to heart a new attitude concerning the blessings of Christ.

hunger

neighbor boy in Beni, Congo

Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are they who mourn,
for they shall be comforted.

Blessed are the meek,
for they shall possess the earth.

Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for justice,
for they shall be satisfied.

Blessed are the merciful,
for they shall obtain mercy.

Blessed are the pure of heart,
for they shall see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they shall be called sons of God.

Blessed are they who suffer persecution for justice sake,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

And in thoughtful discussion with a new-found friend, I processed that passage (Matthew 5:3-12).

Like tough, fried goat’s meat, I had to chew on. And chew. And chew. Until finally, it was broken down enough to swallow, be digested, and nourish my body.

“Blessed are the meek, the merciful, the pure in heart, the peacemakers.” Pretty straightforward. And though my character has not yet mastered any of those qualities, I understand them.

But I was still stuck on the very first bite of this goat-meat: “Blessed are the poor in spirit.”

What does it mean to be poor in spirit?

I don’t think it means lacking in spirit. We’ve got spirit, yes we do; we’ve got spirit, how bout you?

To my interpretation, it might be phrased, “Blessed are the people who have a spirit like the poor.”

I’ve spent some significant time living among poverty throughout East Africa. And here are a few general observations:

  • The poor will never, ever decline food.
  • The poor wait in eager anticipation for their next meal.
  • The poor are always hungry; they can always eat more.

So what if my spirit was like that?

What if my soul was always craving, always wanting more of God?

What if my soul had an insatiable hunger to feast on His Word?

Oh, that my soul would be as desperate for God as the poor are for food!

7 responses to “Goat’s Meat and Beatitudes

  1. That will preach.

  2. amen sister.
    such a blessing to hunger for and be satified by the Word. may it be our most pressing desire.

  3. I just was reading this verse tonite and I think it goes along well with this. But this is the one to whom I will look: he who is humble and contrite in spirit and trembles at my word. Isaiah 66:2

  4. Great thoughts. This idea of being poor in spirit and that the physically poor have something to teach me about how I should relate to God has been resonating with me for years now. Glad to have just discovered your blog.

  5. poor in spirit are: “those who are detached in spirit from the goods of this world, those who are poor without murmuring, and without impatience.” Bishop Jacques Bossuet, 1948

    Your thoughts and writings are beautiful and inspiring and I am glad that I stumbled upon them. God bless you.

  6. Pingback: Parting Gifts | Megan On A Mission

  7. Praise God for your love for him in serving his people. Your mission is inspirational and motivating and God Inspired and to him be all the glory. I pray you remain committed to the mission you are on. It seems clear this is your purpose in life, what a humbling and great honor. Your spirit is strong to serve nourished by your faith in the LORD. Your words in your blogs and the whole site are a gift from God as well as your artistic talents and your heart to serve. You are making a difference for his glory and need to remain encouraged to persevere and continue to grow in faith. Your faith is alive by your actions.

    “9 You gave abundant showers, O God;
    you refreshed your weary inheritance.
    10 Your people settled in it,
    and from your bounty, God, you provided for the poor.

    11 The Lord announces the word,
    and the women who proclaim it are a mighty throng: ” Psalm 68

Leave a Reply

