Mountain Fever

In light of this new reading obsession, I’ve been devouring the classics. My most recent companion: My Antonia by Willa Cather. In the storyline, one of the characters develops an illness called “mountain fever”.

In my imaginary world, I’m suffering from a similar disease. There is just something about the mountains…

Up here, the air is cleaner. Up here, the climate is cooler.

Up here, I can hear myself think. My mind and my heart are at ease.

Up here I can dream. Up here I can imagine.

Spending time in a remote location is always conducive to a creative lifestyle. Hopefully when I return to Bujumbura tomorrow I will feel refreshed, renewed, ready to channel this energy to my work at Amahoro.

Satisfy us in the morning with Your unfailing love, that we may sing for joy and be glad all our days. May the favor of the Lord our God rest upon us; establish the work of our hands for us — yes, establish the work of our hands. Psalm 90: 14, 17

8 responses to “Mountain Fever

  1. Sarah Nielsen

    Megan,
    Bush read My Antonia to the boys when they were in middle school I think. What a gift to be able to absorb all these books.
    What a gift to absorb the picturesque mountain views you show us. When you come back here, you can always, from your mind’s eye, “lift my eyes to the mountains, from whence cometh my help. My help comes from the Lord.”

    I love you.
    Sarah

    • Hysterical that Bush read it to the boys! I’d love to know how they felt about it. Thus far, it seems a bit girly. I can picture them though, rolling their eyes while listening to select portions…

  2. My Antonia is one of my very favorites. I love the innocence Cather captures on that beautiful prairie and the story of deep friendship it tells. Glad to know you’ve gotten on the reading bandwagon….now if only we could get Ryan to do the same we’d all be readers. Except Liesel that is, she just eats books.
    Love you,
    Us

  3. I too love My Antonia. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

  4. Pingback: Crying Over Spilled Milk | Megan On A Mission

  5. Ok, first, way to do some climbing. You always said you wanted to get into Rock Climbing, now you have a better excuse. Second, I am a reader. I just don’t have as much free time on my hands or get paid to, cough cough mo.

  6. Hi Meg!!! My Antonia is one of my favorites!!!! So glad you found it! I hope you feel better real soon!!!!!

Leave a Reply

