The Good Ship Lollipop

Last week, one of my students asked me the following:”Why is the English language so in love with ships?”

The blank stare on my face caused him to explain further…

“The English language always wants to use ships, you know, friendship, relationship, leadership, membership.”

I stood there stupefied, unable to formulate any real explanation. After digging deep down in my brain for the true answer, the best I could find was this:

When the English language was invented, we didn’t have cars or airplanes, so everything revolved around ships.

And that, Ladies and Gentlemen, is why they pay me the big bucks.

Please don’t worry, I’ve since learned (and informed my students) that “ship” is a suffix denoting a quality or condition, thank you Webster.

7 responses to “The Good Ship Lollipop

  1. Thank you for this gem! I laughed out loud reading your reply to this clever student during breakfast and felt like you were right here next to me. Hope you are loving this new role of teaching, friend. It’s interesting how our students make us learn, isn’t it?

  2. You are hilarious!!
    Thinking of you!
    Tina

  3. Megan, glad to hear that you are upholding such a high level of accuracy in your teaching! In a similar language related question, I had a Brazilian coworker ask me yesterday how they made a children’s movie called “Chitty Chitty Bang Bang”. Of course, when heard in Portuguese, the CH doesn’t translate all that well. Anyway, Merry Christmas and know that we are praying for you and Justin and for the Congo Initiative and all of the Congo. May there be joy, peace, and love reigning over that place in this season.

    T

  4. You’re awesome, Megan! Those kids are more fortunate than they probably realize to benefit from your care, enthusiasm and passion. I heard rumors of an ulcer! – sounds terrible. I hope you feel better soon.

  5. You are really funny. Keep up the good work.

  6. Ha! Too funny!!! You are a gem..

  7. Now THAT was thinking on your feet!!

Leave a Reply

